£2.99 For Sale

BERLIOZ: LELIO (The Return to Life) Boulez - CBS72705

This advert is located in and around Exeter, Devon

Advert Description

Oxfam Music Shop Exeter

BERLIOZ: Lélio (The Return to Life), Op.14b

Berlioz' Symphonie Fantastique is well-known; much less known is this work - Lélio. Nevertheless the two works bear a single title: Episode in the Life of an Artist: Fantastic Symphony and Lyrical Monodrama (Lélio, or, The Return to Life. Berlioz wrote "This work should be heard immediately after the Symphonie Fantastique, of which it is the conclusion and complement".

Lélio is a record of the composer overcoming his despair and "returning to life" via the consolations of music and literature. The symphony uses programme music to describe a despairing artist trying to kill himself with an overdose of opium, leading to a series of increasingly terrifying visions. The programme of Lélio describes the artist wakening from these dreams, musing on Shakespeare, his sad life, and not having a woman. The artist decides that if he can't put this unrequited love out of his head, he will immerse himself in music.

Side 1
1. Le Pecheur, Ballade de Goethe
2. Choeur d'ombres
3. Chanson de brigands

Side 2
4. Chant de bonheur
5. La Harpe eolienne - Souvenirs
6. Fantaisie sur "La Tempete" de Shakespeare

Jean-Louis Barrault, Narrator
John Shirley-Quirk, Baritone
John Mitchinson, Tenor
Pierre Boulez, Conductor
The London Symphony Orchestra & Chorus

The sleeve is GOOD; consistent with age; slight discolouration.
Record graded visually to RRPG grade VERY GOOD.
We recommend that the record is cleaned by a professional to maximise the sound quality.

See Oxfam website for delivery information

Additional Information

  • This advert has had 10 views
  • This advert was Created 35 days ago
  • This advert was Updated 35 days ago
  • Exeter, Devon

This advert has no additional information available. Why not get in touch with Oxfam to request more…