£2.99 For Sale

Quartet 1 - Smetana / Quartet 2 - Janacek (both works betray interest in Czech folk idioms - 89 524)

This advert is located in and around Exeter, Devon

Advert Description

Oxfam Music Shop Exeter

(featuring one-and-only Janacek Quartet : Jiri Travnicek & Adolf Sykora - violins ; Jiri Kratochvil - viola ; Karel Krafka - cello)

Both of these works, by Bedrich Smetana (1824-84) & Leos Janacek (1854-1928) respectively, reflect the two Czech composer's shared interest in the folk music of their homeland.

Smetana's First String Quartet, expresses very clearly, the man's striving nature and constant romantic yearning ... During the piece's duration, the listener can hear the language of Smetana's national folk culture, especially the spirit of the collective peasant dances and other frivolities.
Side One : String Quartet No.1 in E minor "From my Life", by Smetana :-
1) I Allegro vivo appassionato 2) II Allegro moderato all Polka 3) III Largo sostenuto 4) IV Vivace.

The Second String Quartet to be composed by Janacek, was composed by the Czech as an old man, only a few months before his death ; it was dedicated to a much-younger female, by the name of Kamila Stosslova, with whom Janacek had recently fallen in love. Indeed, the four movements are written in an intensely personal language, but nevertheless, that life-long affinity with his homeland's folk culture is also well catered-for ...
Side Two : String Quartet No.2 "Intimate Pages", by Janacek :-
1) I Andante Con moto - Allegro 2) II Adagio - Vivace 3) III Moderato - Adagio - Allegro 4) IV Allegro - Andante - Adagio.

Records graded visually to RRPG grades (record/sleeve) EX-/VG+.

See Oxfam website for delivery information

Additional Information

  • This advert has had 17 views
  • This advert was Created 30 days ago
  • This advert was Updated 30 days ago
  • Exeter, Devon

This advert has no additional information available. Why not get in touch with Oxfam to request more…